Jun 2016 | Eighteen EU member states agree property rules for international couples

18 member states have reached agreement on two regulations aimed at determining the rules applicable to property regimes for married couples or registered partners in cross-border situations (i.e. couples of different EU nationalities and/or who own properties in another EU member state).

Denmark, Hungary, Ireland, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, and the UK have opted out.

See here for European Council press release

  1. Regulation on matrimonial property regimes
  2. Regulation on the property consequences of registered partnerships  



Aileen Keogan | Solicitor & Tax Consultant | 21 The Avenue | Louisa Valley | Leixlip | Co. Kildare | Ireland

Tel: +353 1 624 7345 | Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Copyright © 2018 | Aileen Keogan | Solicitor & Tax Consultant | All Rights Reserved.